Genesis

Book One of The Kingdom Come Series

Fiction - Fantasy - General
606 Pages
Reviewed on 08/10/2014
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

At 32, Wade Garret is the youngest of three children (the only boy) born in NY, but raised in the southern United States. He's married to a wonderful woman and has a convict for a dog. When not scratching out a living as a day-to-dayer, he can be found reading, writing, having a pint, researching the latest comics at his local spot or in the chair of his favorite tattoo shop—though none of those as often as he'd like.


wjgarret.blogspot.com
@wadejgarret

    Book Review

Reviewed by Ray Simmons for Readers' Favorite

I am in awe of anyone who even decides to attempt a tale this big. I am even more in awe of someone who completes at least one book in such a saga. If Wade Garret can complete the entire Kingdom Come series he may well take his place among the literary gods of epic fantasy fiction. Genesis is book one of the Kingdom Come series and Wade Garret sets the tone and whets our appetite for the rest of the tale. At almost three hundred and fifty pages, Genesis is a tale unto itself. Yet the saga is just beginning and we can anticipate a long and exciting journey. William and Jak are the Father-Son team at the center of Genesis. They are farmers working their own plot of land in a land and economy clouded by war. When William disappears for a year without warning or explanation, we have to conclude that there is more to this farmer than meets the eye.

Genesis is such a huge tale and there are so many interesting characters that you can become completely engrossed with the story before you realize it. The writing is lyrical and Wade Garret paints the world and the people with a colorful yet deft stroke. Jak and his father William are likable characters, characters that are easy to care about, but it helps that the bad guys are so wickedly evil. This is classic good versus evil at its finest. I can't wait for the next book.

Fantasic Debut!

By P. Rawlik on March 2, 2014
Format: Paperback
Genesis is a magnificent debut and something Wade Garret should be proud of. The scope is reminiscent of some of the epic series of the 70s and 80s, and will draw comparisons to Dune and the Wheel of Time. Garret has created a grand example of world building, full of a fascinating landscape, people and technology that should serve him well in the future as he returns to it in future installments. His characters are rich and well-developed, and their motivations are clear and reasonable. The combination of setting and characters creates an enjoyable and exciting tale that draws the reader in and won't let them go.

However, in the interest of balance there are some sections of the book that drag, and it could use a good editor to deal with some grammatical and structural issues, but these are minor and really do not detract from the book. Wade Garret should be pleased with himself and readers of SF should watch for his future releases.

Captivating

By Tommy Hendley on December 30, 2013
Format: Paperback
I started reading this book and haven't been able to put it down.

Going to recommend this one to anyone who appreciates this genre!

Great Read

By Amazon Customer on December 8, 2013
Format: Paperback
Wonderful world you can sink your teeth into. Story telling executed in a fantastic style that makes you want to keep reading. The characters jump off the page and make you believe in their journey. Good till then end. When is the next one?

Long book, worth the read

November 1, 2013 By NGreen - See all my reviews
This review is from: Genesis: Book One of the Kingdom Come Series (Volume 1) (Paperback)
I am not usually one for reading the longer Sci-Fi novels, but Genesis was definitely worth time. Garret really does a great job providing the physical and social landscape of this world. Fantastic imagination went into the different classes of people, especially of the Arete. The characters and relationships in this book are another great strength. I give the book 4 stars because Garret has created a compelling and complex story that will leave you wanting more, but there are some editorial issues that keep it from perfect. I am certainly waiting for the next book in this series.

Converted science-fiction

November 1, 2013 By Elizabeth Weiss
Ok so I have to say I'm not a huge science-fiction/fantasy person, but this book definitely has made me think twice about my reading list. One of the best books I've read in a long time! It took me some time to get thru it because I'm not use to the flow of a fantasy story but I loved the overall story. This writer has a way of making the reader feel very invested in the characters. The heroes you will absolutely love and find yourself shouting out loud when they come upon misfortune and the villains you will love as well with their extreme complexity nothing is quite what it seems. A very involved and in-depth story from start to finish, I was so sad when I reached the end but I'm so excited for the second book to come out. I can't wait to see where this story goes. Not a book for the faint of heart, but I have no doubt that most geeks out there will love this book. I have been converted, so glad I picked this one up!!! Happy reading!

Fantastic characters, dar

September 18, 2013 By rhondap
This is his first book published? I am impressed! A lot of action and an entire list characters that bring emotion to a fantastic and dark plot. Looking forward to more from Jak and company.

Great Book!

September 18, 2013
By MaryAnn
Format:Kindle Edition
Garret's characters are memorable and compelling, and his creativity and originality within the fantasy genre makes him a remarkable storyteller. This one is a keeper. Wade Garret delivers the key elements of great science fiction: an authentic and detailed future-world; realistic, relatable characters to live in it; and a taut, thoughtful story. Garret's supple, muscular writing is the icing on the cake.

The scene setting and storytelling are so detailed that I felt like I woke up after dreaming in the beginning of the story and walked alongside the characters. I love how the story unfolds like an elaborate piece of origami. If you are looking for a story you can really get lost in with characters you feel like you know then buy this book now. You won't be sorry.

An awesome book!

July 26, 2014
By Jayra
Format:Kindle Edition
Wade Garret's Genesis: Book One of the Kingdom Come is one of the most epic sci-fi books I've read this year. The characters are so realistic that they almost feel tangible. Although I feel that the dialogue can be improved (I think it's just me not being used to dialogue written like this), the characters' personalities are something I can actually associate with, which is great.

Though the novel is quite long, Garret's talent made me flip through my e-reader like a steam engine, almost non-stop, and I finished the book in a few days. However, the prologue with Black didn’t really catch my attention as much as the actual first chapter did, but I’m pretty glad that I didn’t drop the novel as the chapters after the prologue makes up for it.

With each scene painted in full colours and vividness, I can imagine each event happening in my head. If you like books with great detail, you will like how Garret explained his world from how the buildings line up on the road to how some characters choose to wear their clothing.

Even though I'm not usually a fan of past tense and third-person in writing, I was still astounded by the amount of detail and effort put in the making of this novel. The different point of views of the characters were confusing at first, when views switched from character to character, but I got used to it, and truth be told, I actually liked it.

All in all, this is one novel sci-fi fans shouldn't miss. Thanks Garret for sharing your story with us and I'm looking forward to the second book.