Help! I'm a Superhero!

Book One

Young Adult - Adventure
335 Pages
Reviewed on 07/31/2021
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Vincent Dublado for Readers' Favorite

The author who brought you The First presents his latest offering: Help! I'm a Superhero! This is the first installment in a new series by Kipjo K. Ewers, one that will bring you into a world of virtual reality in the tradition of Tron and Ready Player One. This story introduces you to Superia, an MMO virtual player who decides to call it quits and leave the virtual game for good. When you have a reputation for getting kicked out of leagues and your attitude rubs people the wrong way, it seems to be the only sensible choice. She falls asleep in her final gameplay, only to wake up in a newly upgraded platform with a different timeline. This new platform offers a limitless universe but the catch is there are no superheroes. Will Superia be tempted to sign up? And if her objective is to win by any means necessary, does it matter whether she makes a difference or not?

Help! I’m a Superhero! is a perfect illustration of modern-day escapism, especially for the younger generation, and it has plenty of enjoyable pop culture name-dropping. The narrative is generously splashed with expletives just for kicks. Bored with the old MMO game and all that superhero stuff, cyber-sexing, and shunning the meaning of team-player, it's possible that readers might find Superia’s character off-putting and hard to relate to initially. However, Ewers writes with such a depth of love for the virtual world that reading it feels like a digital archive of pop culture mementos, and I would be happy to sign up on his gaming platform. You don’t have to be a nerd to enjoy this story, and it provides a thrilling ride from cover to cover.