Slime Spewing Vampire Velociraptors

Moto Maddie BMX Portal, Book 2

Children - Adventure
118 Pages
Reviewed on 07/04/2017
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Kat was born and raised in Milwaukee, Wisconsin where she learned to roller skate, ride a banana seat bike, and love Shakespeare. She holds a Doctor of Pharmacy degree and is happily employed as a retail pharmacist. She is married to her soul mate, composer Lee de Falla and raising four kids together ala the Brady Bunch. The Seer's Lover was Kat's first book and she is working feverishly on four different series at the moment!

The 7 Archangels Series is the Black Dagger Brotherhood by J.R. Ward meets The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown. Fans of dark fantasy and non-stop action will love this series!

Moto Maddie's BMX Portal is great for kids 8 and up who love Goosebumps books by R.L. Stine or My Big Fat Zombie Goldfish. The books are a mash-up of The Goonies meets The Sand Lot. Kat began this series when her four kids told her there was nothing "good" to read so she asked them for ideas and ba-da-bing...Flying Mutant Zombie Rats was born!

Kat also co-writes the Haunts for Sale Series as Kat Green. This series follows Sloane Osborne - paranormal real estate agents. Fans of Ghost Adventures and The Dead Files will devour this fast-paced series.

Register for her newsletter to learn about her upcoming projects and find out about deals and giveaways at http://eepurl.com/MFZ55

    Book Review

Reviewed by Jack Magnus for Readers' Favorite

Slime Spewing Vampire Velociraptors: Moto Maddie BMX Portal, Book 2 is an action and adventure urban fantasy novel for children and preteens written by Kat de Falla and illustrated by Elayne Griffith. Peabody Cleveland O’Neil really wanted to go to his best friend’s house for a sleepover that night, but his mom had grounded him for two weeks after their recent adventures in the Milwaukee sewers, and his dad knew better than to countermand his wife’s decisions. When Pea called Jules to let him know that the sleepover wasn’t going to happen and that he would have to go to work with his father that night, Jules had an even better idea -- why didn’t he come along? Pea’s dad worked at the Milwaukee Public Museum, and there were plenty of exhibits for the two boys to explore together. Jules had another reason for wanting to go. He had found a strange rock at Moto Maddie’s BMX Park; one he felt sure was a meteorite. The rock felt strange as Pea held it in his hands, but after the last strange event which happened at that park, Pea had no desire for anything else weird to happen, at least not for a good long while. Those flying mutant zombie rats had been trouble enough, and he was still being grounded for that.

Kat de Falla’s action and adventure fantasy novel for children and preteens, Slime Spewing Vampire Velociraptors: Moto Maddie BMX Portal, Book 2, is fast-paced and unpredictable. While it’s the second book in her Moto Maddie series, de Falla gives the reader enough background information for this book to be read as a standalone. I especially enjoyed the plot of this book and the way the author incorporates elements of science in her story, while still keeping it fun, zany and suitably crazy considering the title. Pea and Jules are marvelous characters as is Major, Pea’s artist and veteran father. Elayne Griffith’s illustrations work quite well with the story line and impart a graphic novel feel to the book. This book gives slime a whole new spin and you may never think of velociraptors in the same way again after reading about vampiric ones which spew both blue and green slime -- but that’s not such a bad thing, is it? De Falla’s inventive, original and very funny action story, Slime Spewing Vampire Velociraptors: Moto Maddie BMX Portal, Book 2, is most highly recommended.