Solar Fury

A Post-Apocalyptic Survival Novel (Shattered Sunlight Book 1)

Romance - Fantasy/Sci-Fi
352 Pages
Reviewed on 06/22/2020
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

E.A. Chance is a writer of award-winning suspense, historical and post-apocalyptic women's fiction. She has always cherished books that influence her writing and her life. She hopes to create the same experience for readers and thrives on crafting tales of everyday superheroes. Her debut novel, Arms of Grace (under pen name Eleanor Chance) is a finalist in consideration for production by Wind Dancer Films, a silver medalist in the Readers' FavoriteAwards, and a recipient of the B.R.A.G. Medallion.

She has traveled the world and lived in five different countries. She currently resides in Williamsburg, Virginia area with her husband and is the proud mother of four grown sons and Nana to one amazing grand-darling.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Scott Cahan for Readers' Favorite

Solar Fury by E. A. Chance is about the end of civilization as we know it as a result of a solar flare. The story follows a young mom named Riley and her teenage daughter Julia as they get stranded at a hotel in Washington DC after the solar flare hits. They are hundreds of miles from their home and Riley’s other two small children. This is the story of Riley and Julia’s journey through a broken world trying to reach the rest of their family. They are joined by a man named Coop that Riley met in DC before the flare. When disaster strikes the planet, she and Coop barely know each other but their friendship evolves as they help each other through one hardship after another.

I’ve read many books over the years with a similar scenario; the world falls apart and our hero or heroine must travel across the country to reach a particular destination. Solar Fury by E.A. Chance is easily the best of the bunch that I’ve read. There are two reasons why I think this book rises above the rest. One, the author is relentless in the way she gives her characters one trouble after another. Just when you think the danger is over, something else happens. This book kept me guessing from start to finish, wondering how the three main characters were going to survive. The second great thing about this book is the complicated relationships between the three main characters. The author did a great job of showing us how traumatic situations affect human beings both inwardly and outwardly. The strains put on the relationships among the characters are interesting and realistic. Solar Fury is a fast-paced story of fragile human beings working together to overcome overwhelming obstacles.

Susan Sewell

Stranded over a thousand miles from their home when a coronal mass ejection decimates the globe, a mother and her daughter struggle to survive in the breathtaking dystopian adventure, Solar Fury by E. A. Chance. Leaving her two youngest children at home with her parents in Colorado, Dr. Riley Poole takes Julia, her oldest daughter, with her to a medical conference, in Washington D.C. Riley is one of the speakers at the conference, but the evening before her lecture, a national emergency is broadcasted. A solar flare is heading for earth, and the effects are expected to last four to five days. However, the emergency measures suggested became obsolete when the storm hit early and far more powerfully than expected. After many people are killed or injured, Riley takes in an abandoned little girl, twelve-year-old Hannah. With the world exploding around them, Riley, Julia, Coop, and Hannah begin the journey home. Facing starvation, renegades, blizzards, and death, the four must find a way to survive.

Solar Fury: A Post-Apocalyptic Survival Novel (Shattered Sunlight Book 1) by E. A. Chance is an action-packed novel that will thrill fans of adventure and dystopian tales. The characters are beautifully developed, the plot flows seamlessly, and the story engages the reader from the outset. With many action-packed, drama-filled scenes, I had a difficult time putting the book down. As the first book in a trilogy, this thrilling story comes to a satisfying closure, leaving the reader panting for the next installment. It promises to merge flawlessly into the coming sequel, and I am anxiously waiting to read it!

Tammy Ruggles

Solar Fury by award-winning E.A. Chance is a must-read page-turner in the vein of The Road, Panic Room, and Aliens. If you like your dystopian science fiction grounded in family survival, relatable situations, and emotional drama, this is your book. The story centers around the main character Riley Poole, a widowed mom and surgeon living with PTSD and trying to raise her daughter, Julia--a small family trying to mind its own business in the wake of losing a husband and father. Imagine your world--the whole world--thrown into darkness and mayhem because of a solar flare that knocks out power, convenience, and the devices society depends on for survival. What would you do? How would you react? How far would you go to protect and provide for yourself and your child? This is a story that will help you consider your answers as it unfolds in the lives of its characters.

Sometimes you don't know how brave you are until you're confronted with a crisis. The great thing about this book is that it uses ordinary people in extraordinary circumstances. It's an unnerving what-if scenario that seems all too real. Heroes are all around us, and E.A. Chance illustrates this perfectly. The characters of Riley, Julia, and Coop are realistic and human--far from perfect--which makes this book so readable. The story is accessible as well. A family fights to survive in an unexpected global crisis--did you do some emotional fighting to survive the Covid 19 pandemic? Did you wonder how you were going to feed your family or stave off potential threats? This book is timely in that it comes along in our own day of trials and tribulations, but it's timeless in that it's about a family seeking to stay alive for the present, and for the future. Chance writes with clarity and pathos and involves you immediately in the story, on the first page. This keeps you engaged and uneasy until the end. Her literary phrasing, character arcs, plot development, and terror-building skills demonstrate why she's an award-winning author. Solar Fury by E.A. Chance is a promise of more to come in a series--a roller coaster ride you never want to end.