The Besieged Pharaoh


Fiction - Historical - Personage
252 Pages
Reviewed on 05/06/2019
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Divine Zape for Readers' Favorite

The Besieged Pharaoh by William Speir is a historical novel that takes readers on an adventure to ancient Egypt, following Amenhotep II, the Great Son of Ra, Pharaoh of Upper and Lower Egypt, just after the devastating defeat by the Hebrews. He has lost every first son in the land, and his kingdom is still recovering from the deadly plagues. We meet him vulnerable and defeated. Now his allies and the lands he has conquered find it difficult to trust him. With Egypt reeling from the pain inflicted by the Hebrews, his own people need a change, and there are intrigues and plots to overthrow him. There are hardcore enemies just willing to assassinate him and replace him with one of his sons. Can he turn things around, find powerful allies to help him overcome the plots against him, and restore Egypt to its once powerful position?

In the tradition of Christian Jacq, William Speir transports readers to ancient Egypt and crafts a story that is historically strong and that explores the culture of Egypt during the time of the pharaohs. For fans of historical novels and readers with a keen interest in Egyptology, The Besieged Pharaoh comes across as a wonderful treat. While the novel starts with a powerful biblical allusion to the outwitting of Pharaoh by the Hebrews, the plotlines explore the complexity of life in ancient Egypt, the power of the Pharaoh and a civilization undergoing a crisis such as there has never been before in its history. The setting is beautifully imagined, the plot is filled with twists and surprises, and the characters are complex. This is one of the best historical novels with a setting in ancient Egypt. It is filled with focused scenes and the writing style is both evocative and lyrical.