Wake of Deception


Fiction - Dystopia
228 Pages
Reviewed on 12/23/2016
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Sasha DeVore loves coffee and sleeping, and firmly believes there is no wrong time of day for breakfast tacos. When she isn’t teaching her wonderful students at an elementary school in Austin, TX, she’s spending time with her equally wonderful husband, son and dogs at their home in Manor, TX.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Kim Anisi for Readers' Favorite

Hanu, the protagonist of Wake of Deception by Sasha DeVore, has been living in a clinic for people with mental conditions for a few years. There seems to be no improvement in his condition, and no wonder, too, because he's stopped taking his pills! One day, Hanu and some other mental patients are put into a transporter to be taken into the District of Operations. But once they find out the truth about their transport, the world of the teenagers changes drastically. Hanu has to find out that the Ancient Ones, who were responsible for making wars, poverty, and diseases disappear, are not quite what they appear to be - and that the government also is not quite honest about its operations. Hanu gets involved with a group of dissenters and has to fight hard to stay alive in a world that would prefer him to remain blind to the truth.

Hanu's story, as told in Wake of Deception by Sasha DeVore, is an interesting one. The author created some interesting characters - even the side characters come across as rather round instead of flat, typecast characters. The young people in this novel have to face a world full of danger - a world in which truths are hidden, and lies are common (sounds a bit like reality, too, doesn't it?). I enjoyed the pace of the story, and the idea of ancient beings who somehow are superior to human beings was interesting. The writing was well done, the plot well thought through, and I would definitely recommend fans of dystopia to give this book a try.

Risah Salazar

In Wake of Deception by Sasha DeVore, Hanu is a fourteen-year-old boy with schizophrenia who has spent half of his life in The Flush -- a facility that "cures" children showing symptoms of difference and resistance. After all these years, Hanu is already sick of the medications they are giving him and is convinced that they are only feeding them lies. He finds a way to subtly trick the staff, but his tricks do not work for too long. He and a few other kids are then sent to The District for some kind of punishment. Little did they know that this punishment is nothing less than death itself.

Sasha DeVore's Wake of Deception is the first installment in The Wake trilogy. This dystopian thriller is a satirical take on how power-hungry authorities manipulate the thoughts and feelings of the public to support their selfish cause. Wake of Deception shows that being different is not always a bad thing and that it can be an amazing feat because nobody else can think or act like you. You can either choose to believe by what others are saying or you can look deeper inside yourself, embrace your uniqueness, and use it to rise up and help others. The cold and dry imagery adds to the overall eerie feeling of this dystopian story. Fans of The Hunger Games, Divergent, and The Maze Runner series will surely enjoy this book.

Steven Robson

Wake of Deception by Sasha DeVore is a disturbing glimpse into a possible future that humanity may not wish to survive. When General Tsung releases a nuclear bomb to end the war that has decimated Earth, the survival of the human race is on a knife-edge, and the imminent explosion could ring our death knell. What follows is a period dominated by a mysterious species referred to as The Ancients, whose appearance results in the saving of all that remains of our planet. When Hanu, a man who has spent half his life in The Flush, is summoned to the Capital City District of Operations, he finds his life inexorably changed in ways he could never imagine. Coming from The Flush, where those with mental anomalies are kept, into the reality of a world full of secrets and unknown dangers, Hanu struggles to find his ultimate happiness and truth.

Sasha DeVore’s Wake of Deception is an enjoyable book, written in language that is clear and well structured, and this greatly enhances the reading experience. The plot is very imaginative, introducing interesting concepts that challenge your mind to explore new boundaries and consider a future that may not necessarily be the perfect outcome we all envisage. Hanu is quite believable, and the relationships he develops with those he encounters on his adventure are warm and emotionally authentic. I also found the post-apocalyptic world created was engulfing and eerily realistic, allowing the reader to immerse themselves into the adventure alongside the characters involved in the action. Overall, a good read.

K.C. Finn

Wake of Deception is a work of fiction set in the dystopian and futuristic-themed genres and was penned by author Sasha DeVore. Suitable for both adult readers and mature young adults thanks to its lack of graphic content, this compelling work of drama and conceptual content opens a trilogy of adventure and intrigue: The Wake Trilogy. The central character, Hanu, finds life in his mental hospital unfulfilling, but things are about to take an unexpected turn as he is invited to the Capital City to meet with the Council. In a world where the mysterious Ancient Ones have saved humanity from its own demise, anything is possible, and Hanu is about to find out just how frightening that can be.

It is no mean feat to combine a darkly realistic work of drama with the sleek, conceptual possibilities of science fiction and future fiction, but author Sasha DeVore presents a world worthy of the likes of Blade Runner and The Matrix. Stylish but also hiding a very dark heart, her worldbuilding gives a cool atmosphere and a solid logic to the new Earth around Hanu, which sets up this initial novel and new trilogy well. Although the plot burns slowly for the opening of the tale, many intrigues and mysteries are set up for future stories, and the read itself is a lavish journey of discovery with close narration that allows us to get to know Hanu really well. Overall, Wake of Deception is a truly compelling story that will start dystopian fans on a brand new journey.

Thunderbird Man

super cool book!