Whiskers, Feathers & Fur

Veterinary Tales

Non-Fiction - Animals
344 Pages
Reviewed on 04/10/2020
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Austin is an Irish veterinarian and writer. This is his debut book of illustrated/ humour stories from his international work and travels as a vet. The stories arise from Ireland, the UK, Australia and New Zealand.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Tammy Ruggles for Readers' Favorite

Whiskers, Feathers & Fur: Veterinary Tales by Austin Donnelly is a memoir of heartfelt and informative anecdotes about the author's experiences as a veterinarian. Based on his true-life travels, Donnelly recalls an eclectic mix of encounters, from calves to piglets; each story pulsating with his obvious love of the animal kingdom and dedication to the health and well-being of its inhabitants.

Fans of All Creatures Great and Small, or even Dr. Dolittle, will appreciate this book. Donnelly writes from passion, experience, and wisdom, not to mention humor. Whether along a roadside or inside a barn, the author takes you there and makes you feel like you're experiencing it right along with him--an observer of sorts. From the first pages you're hooked by a heartbreaking event, but then Donnelly changes the mood by writing about something lighter and more carefree. Anyone in love with animals knows the cycle of birth, life, and death and he doesn't shy away from the honesty of that cycle. My favorite part was Donnelly's backstory and motivations--the events and emotions that shaped his love for and a career involving animals. It seems that not only does he care about the animals he serves, but he also wants others to care, too.

Anyone who has ever been raised around or lived with animals knows that furry/feathered/whiskered lives can be just as full, fun, sad, and grievous as their human counterparts. The author does a good job of conveying this, and a good job of describing the people in his recollections. Overall, Whiskers, Feathers & Fur: Veterinary Tales by Austin Donnelly is an enjoyable, entertaining book, thanks to the author's accessible, personable style and would make a great movie.