Witch Heart

Leadership always requires sacrifice (Gray Girl Book 3)

Fiction - Realistic
258 Pages
Reviewed on 09/15/2018
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Susan I. Spieth is a 1985 graduate of the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. She served five years in the Army before attending seminary and becoming ordained in the United Methodist Church. For more information, go to www.GrayGirlSeries.com or www.SusanISpieth.com
The Gray Girl Series depicts authentic experiences of the early years when the United States Military Academy first admitted women cadets. Jan Wishart is both heroine and troublemaker. She and her friends sometimes create their own dilemmas but mostly solve the larger issues they face while at West Point. Gray Girl: Honor Isn’t Always Black and White is the first book in the Gray Girl Series. For more information, go to www.GrayGirlSeries.com or www.SusanISpieth.com

    Book Review

Reviewed by Kris Moger for Readers' Favorite

Witch Heart: Gray Girl Book 3 by Susan I. Spieth is a mix of the author’s real life events and a suspense-filled mystery. The main character, Jan, is entering her training at the Army Airborne School at Fort Benning. With few other options to get an education without sinking into debt, she is determined to do her best and graduate from West Point. Despite the issues of the previous year, she faces the challenges and her rivals with stubborn grit. Though she has her friends by her side, someone is stalking her and others are trying to get her dishonorably discharged. Are they one and the same? Or is she a witch who attracts trouble wherever she goes?

Though Witch Heart is not the first book in Susan I. Spieth’s Gray Girl series, it did not take me long to mostly catch up with the story. There were a few things I would like to clarify, so I would recommend reading the previous books first, but the writing is so good that it is easy enough to enjoy Witch Heart on its own. The journey that Spieth describes for Jan is filled with realism and frustration as she weaves in misogyny, bigotry, and betrayal. I can’t say that I always liked Jan and her friends, especially certain comments they make about one of the other soldiers, but I don’t know the exact nature of their history with her, as they happen in the previous books. Despite not always liking the characters, the writing kept me wanting to know more and follow them to the end, proving that not all main characters have to be likeable for readers to enjoy a story.