Clover and the Twins

The Search for the Cloverleaf Dogs

Children - Animals
200 Pages
Reviewed on 04/22/2014
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Mamta Madhavan for Readers' Favorite

Clover and the Twins: The search for the Cloverleaf Dogs by Nicoletta Barrie is an endearing adventure story of Clover the dog. Ten-year-old twins Chanel and Bezel Sini are spokesgirls for Dogs Forever - a Dog Rescue. The story is about their campaign, along with the Labrador named Clover whom they adopted on the previous day of their campaign. Clover tells these two girls about her life before this and they realize that Clover belongs to a line of dogs called the Cloverleaf Dogs. Legend has it that these dogs rescued people and pets during the Great Chicago Fire of 1871. Once they complete the campaign, it is up to these two to help Clover find her dog family.

Apart from being a fun adventure story, it teaches you to love dogs and animals. The story has a good mix of adventure, humor, and mystery. The main character is Clover and she is funny and heroic. The plot of the book revolves around her. There is a twist in the plot which gives a mystery angle to the story, making it adventurous. The villain Red Eyes changes the tone of the story from good to bad in between and gives the plot a sinister element.

I would recommend this book for your personal collection because it is a fun read and adventurous, too. The two girls are both lovable and, along with the dog Clover, will enthrall readers with their adventures. It is a book that all young readers will enjoy.

By C. Daniela on March 22

A lovely story about dogs
By C. Daniela on March 22, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
What a lovely story! I read it to my niece and she was enchanted. Me too! I really like the way the author writes. And I like a lot this story which teaches various things, beside the love for animals. There's also an unexpected bonus: the free ebook "What you need to know before you adopt a dog" which can be downloaded from the author's site and from two other sources. Highly recommended!

By Leland D. Benton on Ma

Exciting and epic...
By Leland D. Benton on March 20, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
A delightfully fun and exciting adventure story of Clover the dog. The author presents a dynamic story of epic proportions and hours of enjoyment and entertainment. An excellent book for your personal library.

By Ceil Combs on March 13

Page-turning Pleasure!
By Ceil Combs on March 13, 2013
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
Clover is the new Lassie. A thoroughly enjoyable pup who you will be rooting for with every turn of the page. Equally engaging are Clover's "people"--the spunky and tenacious ten-year-old twins, Channel and Bezel. With these great characters and an evil villain with a fondness for exotic animal skins and stolen masterpieces, as well as a plot with twists that lead us from an abandoned train yard on the south side of Chicago across the country and back again to tony Michigan Avenue, you have all the makings for a great timeless story--one where love and human kindness prevail. The legend of the Cloverleaf dogs dates back to the Chicago Fire, and I am sure there are many more adventures that will hopefully be shared in a sequel!

By Ionia Martin TOP 500 R

This book brings you joy!
By Ionia Martin TOP 500 REVIEWER on March 30, 2013
Format: Paperback
This book is incredible! If you want to read a book that will just make you feel really good, may I suggest "Clover and the Twins" By Nicoletta Barrie. This would be appropriate for younger crowds (8 and over) but is also an enjoyable read for adults.

The author prefaces her book with the story of how she came to adopt the last two of her pets and tells the reader that some of the elements of her book are based on fact, such as the name of the "Dogs Forever" Rescue in Iowa. I thought this was a really good way to start a book about a fictional dog. It lets the reader know that the author cares about her chosen subject matter and also that she has written a story based on what she knows.

Now on to the story: This book is a perfect mix of mystery, hilarity and tenderness. The main characters, twin sisters Channel and Bezel Sini are highly likeable girls that I think children would have no trouble identifying with. They are good-natured, devoted to their jobs and each other and make for a lot of fun throughout the story. I liked that the girls were the kind of children you want your kids to be, rather than flawed characters with a lot of issues which seems to be prominent in literature intended for younger audiences these days.

I loved that the author managed to get her point across about the importance of animal rescues without sounding overly preachy in the process. The legend of the Clover dog family is so fun and creative and carries the rest of this story nicely.

Clover the dog is the focal point of the story and you couldn't ask for a better character for the plot to revolve around. She is smart, has a good sense of humor and is a heroic dog to top it all off! I loved this book and can't wait to see what the author comes up with next.

I would definitely recommend this for young readers. It is free of anything you wouldn't want your child to read, is encouraging and engaging and overall just a whole lot of fun.

By MARY GRIFFITHS

5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly Enjoyable and charming!, March 8, 2013
By
MARY GRIFFITHS (BROOKFIELD, WI USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clover and the Twins: The search for the Cloverleaf dogs (Paperback)
I purchased this book for my seven year old Granddaughter and previewed it in anticipation of giving it to her. I found the story of the Cloverleaf Dogs to be absolutely engaging. I loved the tie-in to the Chicago Fire and the information regarding the Dogs Forever organization is fantastic. Ms. Barrie is a very creative and wonderful writer and I look forward to the sequel to Clover and the Twins.

By Judith H Lechtenberg

5.0 out of 5 stars Very engaging, April 12, 2013
By Judith H Lechtenberg - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clover and the Twins: The search for the Cloverleaf Labrador dogs (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book for my 10 year old granddaughter. I also read it before giving it to her. I was hooked on the first page. I enjoyed the adventures of Clover with the twins. My granddaughter has two dogs and I know she will enjoy this book. Ms. Barrie is truly gifted for writing books for children. I look forward to reading about more adventures with Clover.

By My Book Addiction


5.0 out of 5 stars DELIGHTFUL TALE OF ADVENTURE!, March 18, 2014
By My Book Addiction and More "MyBookAddictionAn... - See all my reviews
This review is from: Clover and the Twins: The search for the Cloverleaf Labrador dogs (Kindle Edition)
CLOVER AND THE TWINS: The Search for the Cloverleaf Dogs by Nicoletta Barrie is an exciting Children's Book/Animals/Adventure. What a delightful tale of adventure, animals, the Cloverleaf Dogs, danger and excitement. A treasure for any young or older reader. The characters are enchanting, engaging, and a delight to follow. The storyline will capture your heart as well as your interest. A must read! Received for an honest review.