Magic Waking

Legends Reborn Book 1

Fiction - Fantasy - Urban
289 Pages
Reviewed on 08/25/2017
Buy on Amazon

Author Biography

Eva Chase lives in Canada with her family. She loves stories both swoony and supernatural, and strong women and the men who appreciate them. Her series include the Alpha Project Psychic Romances, The Witch’s Consorts, The Dragon Shifter’s Mates, the Demons of Fame Romances, and the Legends Reborn trilogy.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Liz Konkel for Readers' Favorite

Magic Waking by Eva Chase is book one of the Legends Reborn series. Emma Hale balances life as the reincarnation of a century-old wizard with life as a seemingly ordinary college student. She knows it's only a matter of time before the next incarnation of King Arthur wakes up, making him a target for the dark fae to kill him. Darton isn't anything like how Emma remembers her king to be, but the more she tries to protect him the closer the two become. As the dark fae grows more powerful, Emma struggles to find a way to break their centuries-old curse while trying to keep Darton alive.

Eva Chase twists everything we thought we knew of the legends, bringing the legendary king and wizard to the present. It's clear this is just the beginning of Emma and Darton's story as Magic Waking ends with the need to know what happens next. Having centuries worth of lives, Emma is a mix of old-fashioned and modern point of view. She's the perfect hero, snarky and honest. Darton and Emma have a fun chemistry and a quick banter, with every scene between them better than the last. The side characters are unique and sincere, a ragtag team with only Emma truly understanding what's happening. Darton's friends fill the void of Guinevere and Lancelot, with more humor and loyalty and less drama. Priya is a breath of fresh air, a character that makes you want to learn more. A modern retelling of the King Arthur legend with the same magic and adventure, Magic Waking is refreshing, intriguing, and addictive. A must-read start to a series!