Beyond the Cliff and Courage

Lost Valley

Children - Fantasy/Sci-Fi
386 Pages
Reviewed on 12/19/2021
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Free Book Program, which is open to all readers and is completely free. The author will provide you with a free copy of their book in exchange for an honest review. You and the author will discuss what sites you will post your review to and what kind of copy of the book you would like to receive (eBook, PDF, Word, paperback, etc.). To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Review Exchange Program, which is open to all authors and is completely free. Simply put, you agree to provide an honest review an author's book in exchange for the author doing the same for you. What sites your reviews are posted on (B&N, Amazon, etc.) and whether you send digital (eBook, PDF, Word, etc.) or hard copies of your books to each other for review is up to you. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email, and be sure to describe your book or include a link to your Readers' Favorite review page or Amazon page.

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Kristine Zimmerman for Readers' Favorite

Beyond the Cliff and Courage, written and illustrated by Vanessa Bettencourt, is an epic adventure. The story takes place in the Wild Lands which is the land of all sorts of bugs. We meet Aion, a young bug who is determined to run away during the festival celebrating his father. Things don't quite go as planned, and the menacing spiders show up and kidnap one of his closest friends. Aion is determined to rescue her and bravely starts on his way. As with any good adventure story, there are twists and turns along the way. He meets numerous creatures who both help and hinder him. He also learns that what began as a rescue mission has turned into something even more important. The story culminates in an epic battle. Will Aion and his companions survive?

Beyond the Cliff and Courage is an engrossing action story filled with interesting characters. It also serves as a coming-of-age story for our young bug Aion, who slowly recognizes who he is and what he can accomplish. Vanessa Bettencourt has included multiple illustrations throughout the book that greatly enhance the story. Each of her many characters is fully realized and brings added depth to this fantasy world. I love the humor that is included as well, especially with Sly the Snail. Fans of The Warriors and Redwall will love immersing themselves in the world of the Wild Lands. Beyond the Cliff and Courage is an enjoyable read, and might even make you appreciate bugs, even spiders, a little bit more.