The Women of Crooked Creek

A Western Short Story Collection

Fiction - Western
186 Pages
Reviewed on 04/20/2016
Buy on Amazon

This author participates in the Readers' Favorite Book Donation Program, which was created to help nonprofit and charitable organizations (schools, libraries, convalescent homes, soldier donation programs, etc.) by providing them with free books and to help authors garner more exposure for their work. This author is willing to donate free copies of their book in exchange for reviews (if circumstances allow) and the knowledge that their book is being read and enjoyed. To begin, click the purple email icon to send this author a private email. Be sure to tell the author who you are, what organization you are with, how many books you need, how they will be used, and the number of reviews, if any, you would be able to provide.

Author Biography

Officially . . . MK McClintock is a multiple award-winning author who has written several novels and short stories, including the popular "Montana Gallagher" series set in the 1880s, the "Crooked Creek" series set in post-Civil War Montana, and the highly-acclaimed "British Agent" novels set in Victorian England, Scotland, and Ireland. She created the multi-author "Whitcomb Springs" series, also set in post-Civil War Montana.

Unofficially . . . I allow my imagination freedom to wander at will. It has not and will not settle on one genre. Future stories will take me across more genres and new eras, and I can't wait to get there. You will come to know me through the words I write, and for an author, that is what truly matters.

The Women of Crooked Creek . . . Set in post-Civil War Montana Territory, in the small town of Crooked Creek, and it all started with Emma. Her story was written for a contest, but I soon realized there were more women whose tales needed to be written. The war is over between the North and the South, but the battles at home are just beginning. If you love stories of bravery and courage with unforgettable women and the men they love, you'll enjoy the Women of Crooked Creek. These four short stories are not the end.

    Book Review

Reviewed by Paul F. Murray for Readers' Favorite

The Women of Crooked Creek: A Western Short Story Collection by MK McClintock offers a new way of telling stories about the Old West - Crooked Creek, Montana Territory in this case. Each short story builds upon the one before it or sets the stage for the short story to follow. Thus, the series of four short stories is linked.

Emma is a woman doctor who comes to Crooked Creek to start a new life after the death of her first husband in the Civil War. Is there room in her heart for a second husband, possibly Casey Latimer? Hattie McBride is the next short story. Hattie is another Civil War widow who comes west to start a ranch, as she and her deceased husband had planned on doing together. Now, Hattie must forge ahead by herself, or does she? Half-breed Carson White Eagle bonds with Hattie as together they work to fend off a neighboring rancher who wants Hattie’s land. Briley Donoghue is a mail-order bride from Ireland who comes to Crooked Creek, only to discover that her intended spouse has died. Briley must create a new life for herself, using her seamstress skills and the help of the doting local sheriff. Clara Stowe is an unwed mother, at a time when such situations caused great scandal. Clara is determined to open an inn and make a comfortable life for herself and her five-year-old daughter, Alice, notwithstanding stage coach robbers who get in the way.

I enjoyed The Women of Crooked Creek by MK McClintock. The four interconnected short stories will have powerful appeal to readers who like an author who can cut to the chase quickly, get to the meat of the story quickly, without a lot of fluff and padding. MK McClintock knows what readers want. A good collection of short stories.